咪喹莫特治疗非免疫功能低下成人的尖锐湿疣

Imiquimod cream

咪喹莫特治疗非免疫功能低下成人的尖锐湿疣

RHL摘要

 

 

 

主要发现

  • 纳入试验的质量低和偏倚风险高,因此对本评价的发现应谨慎对待。
  • 咪喹莫特和患者选用的治疗有相似的成效。
  • 咪喹莫特产生全身性不良反应较少。
  • 然而,与安慰剂相比,咪喹莫特的效果不明确,而局部不良反应和疼痛频率增加。

 

本评价纳入的证据

本评价纳入了10项试验,共有1734例参试者。纳入的研究来自于奥地利(1项)、德国(1项)、希腊(1项)、印度(1项)、土耳其(1项)和美国(5项)。6项试验因由制药公司资助,有偏倚风险。

咪喹莫特与安慰剂(6项研究、1294例患者)、其它患者选用的治疗(2项研究、105例患者)、或其它提供者选用的治疗(2项研究,335例患者)进行比较。

质量评估

纳入试验的质量非常低,并且所有试验有高偏倚风险。

临床意义

因纳入的试验质量低、偏倚风险高以及评价的效应估计可信度有限,对评价的发现应谨慎对待。

进一步研究

需要高质量的RCTs比较咪喹莫特与其他患者或提供者选用的疗法,以便为尖锐湿疣(肛门生殖器疣)患者的治疗提供指导。今后的研究应使偏倚来源最小化,并确保重要的临床结局被报告,以确保研究结果能为这些患者的优化治疗提供清晰明确的指导。

 

Cochrane评价

引自:Grillo-Ardila CF, Angel-Müller E, Salazar-Díaz LC, Gaitán HG, Ruiz-Parra AI, Lethaby A. Imiquimod for anogenital warts in non-immunocompromised adults. Cochrane Database of Systematic Review, 2014, Issue 11. Art. No.: CD010389. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD010389.pub2.

摘要

背景

30%患有尖锐湿疣(AGW)的人其病灶会自行消退,但没有办法可确定是否有特殊病灶依然存在。有许多不同的方式可用于治疗AGW,治疗选择基于临床医生的经验、患者的偏好和不良反应。咪喹莫特具有患者选用疗法的优势,而没有提供者选用治疗的一些限制。

目的

评价咪喹莫特治疗非免疫功能低下成年人的AGW的有效性和安全性。

检索方法

检索了Cochrane STI组的试验注册资料库(2014年4月15日)、CENTRAL(1991年至2014年4月15日)、 MEDLINE(1946 年至2015年4月15日)、 EMBASE(1947年至2014年4月15日)、LILACS(1982年至2014年4月15日)、WHO国际临床试验注册资料库(ICTRP)(2014年4月15日)、ClinicalTrials.gov (15 April 2014年4月15日)、Web of Science (2001年至2014年4月15日)和OpenGrey(2014年4月15日)。也手工检索了会议论文集、与试验作者联系并评价已提取研究的参考文献。

选择标准

为治疗非免疫能力低下成年人的AGW,使用咪喹莫特和安慰剂、任何其它患者选用或任何其它提供者选用的治疗(已在其它Cochrane评价中评价过的干扰素和5-氟尿嘧啶除外)进行比较的随机对照试验(RCTs)。

数据收集和分析

三名评价作者独立评估试验以纳入、提取数据并评估偏倚风险。对任何分歧都通过达成共识予以解决。证据的质量用GDRADE方法来评估。

主要结果

10项RCTs(1734例患者)满足纳入标准,其中六项为企业资助。纳入试验的偏倚风险被判断为高。六项试验(1294例参试者)对使用咪喹莫特和使用安慰剂进行比较。在病灶完全或部分消退上咪喹莫特优于安慰剂,证据质量很低(RR分别为4.03和2.56,95%CI分别为2.03 ~ 7.99、2.05 ~ 3.20)。当与安慰剂比较,咪喹莫特对复发(RR 2.76,95%CI 0.70 ~ 10.91)、出现新疣(RR 0.76, 95%CI 0.58 ~ 1.00)、以及全身性不良反应的频率(RR 0.91,95%CI 0.63 ~1.32)的效果不确定。我们将证据的质量降为低或很低。咪喹莫特导致更多的局部不良反应(RR 1.73,95%CI 3.36 ~ 41.63)和疼痛(RR 11.84,95%CI 3.36 ~ 41.63),其证据质量为低等。

两项试验(105例参试者)对咪喹莫特使用和其它患者选用的治疗(足叶草毒素和盾叶鬼臼树脂)进行比较。咪喹莫特对完全消退(RR 1.09,95%CI 0.80 ~ 1.48)、部分消退(RR 0.77,95%CI 0.40 ~ 1.47)、复发(RR 0.49,95%CI 0.21 ~ 1.11)、或出现局部不良反应(RR 1.24,95%CI 1.00 ~ 1.54)的效果不确定(证据质量很低)。使用咪喹莫特出现较少频次的全身性不良反应(RR 0.30, 95%CI 0.09 ~ 0.98),证据质量为低等。

最后,两项试验(335例参试者)对咪喹莫特和任何其它提供者选用的治疗(烧蚀法和冷冻疗法)进行比较。咪喹莫特并不会产生更低频次的完全消退(RR 0.84,95%CI 0.56 ~ 1.28),证据质量很低。在6个月随访中咪喹莫特导致较低的复发率,证据质量很低(RR 0.24,95%CI 0.10 ~ 0.56),但在6个月到12个月的随访中这并没有转化为更低的复发(RR 0.71,95%CI 0.40 ~ 1.25;很低质量的证据)。咪喹莫特与较少疼痛(RR 0.30,95%CI 0.17 ~ 0.54)和较少局部反应(RR 0.55,95%CI 0.40 ~ 0.74)有关联,证据质量很低。

作者的结论

因偏倚风险及在该Cochrane评价中评估的许多结局的证据不精确和不一致,对咪喹莫特与安慰剂的效益和危害比较的结果应谨慎对待。许多结局的证据显示咪喹莫特和患者选用的治疗(足叶草毒素或盾叶鬼臼树脂)产生相似的效益,但咪喹莫特产生较少的全身性反应,该证据质量低或很低。有关评估咪喹莫特和其它提供者选用治疗的结局证据质量很低。

Imiquimod for anogenital warts in non-immunocompromised adults

Imiquimod cream

Imiquimod for anogenital warts in non-immunocompromised adults

Key findings

  • Findings should be treated with caution due to the low quality and high risk of bias of the included trials.
  • Imiquimod and patient-applied treatments conferred similar benefits.
  • Imiquimod resulted in fewer systemic adverse reactions.
  • However, effects of imiquimod when compared to placebo were imprecise, and local adverse reactions and frequency of pain were increased with imiquimod

Evidence included in this review

10 trials with a total of 1734 participants were included in the review. Studies were included from Austria (1), Germany (1), Greece (1), India (1), Turkey (1) and the USA (5). Six trials were at risk of bias due to being funded by pharmaceutical companies.

Imiquimod was compared to placebo (6 studies, 1294 patients), other patient-applied treatment (2 studies, 105 patients), or other provider-applied treatments (2 studies, 335 patients).

Quality assessment

The quality of included trials was very low, and all trials were at a high risk of bias.

Clinical implications

Review findings should be treated with caution due to the low quality of the included trials, the high risk of bias, and the limited confidence in the effect estimates of the review.

Further research

High quality RCTs will be required in order to guide treatment for patients with anogenital warts comparing imiquimod to other patient- or provider-administered treatments. Future research should minimize sources of bias and ensure that important clinical outcomes are reported in order to ensure that results can provide clear guidance on optimal treatment for these patients.


Cochrane review

Citation: Grillo-Ardila CF, Angel-Müller E, Salazar-Díaz LC, Gaitán HG, Ruiz-Parra AI, Lethaby A. Imiquimod for anogenital warts in non-immunocompromised adults. Cochrane Database of Systematic Review, 2014, Issue 11. Art. No.: CD010389. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD010389.pub2.

Abstract

30% of people with anogenital warts (AGW) have spontaneous regression of lesions but there is no way to determine whether a specific lesion will remain. There are a wide range of options available for treating people with AGW and selection is based on clinician's experience, patient preferences and adverse effects. The imiquimod could offer the advantages of patient-applied therapies without incurring the limitations of provider-administered treatments.

To assess the effectiveness and safety of imiquimod for the treatment of AGW in non-immunocompromised adults.

We searched the Cochrane Sexually Transmitted Infections Group Specialized Register (15 April 2014), CENTRAL (1991 to 15 April 2014), MEDLINE (1946 to 15 April 2014), EMBASE (1947 to 15 April 2014), LILACS (1982 to 15 April 2014), World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry (ICTRP) (15 April 2014), ClinicalTrials.gov (15 April 2014), Web of Science (2001 to 15 April 2014) and OpenGrey (15 April 2014). We also handsearched conference proceedings, contacted trial authors and reviewed the reference lists of retrieved studies.

Randomized controlled trials (RCTs) comparing the use of imiquimod with placebo, any other patient-applied or any other provider-administered treatment (excluding interferon and 5-fluorouracil which are assessed in other Cochrane Reviews) for the treatment of AGW in non-immunocompromised adults.

Three review authors independently assessed trials for inclusion, extracted data and assessed risk of bias. We resolved any disagreements through consensus. The quality of the evidence was assessed using the GRADE approach.

Ten RCTs (1734 participants) met our inclusion criteria of which six were funded by industry. We judged the risk of bias of the included trials as high. Six trials (1294 participants) compared the use of imiquimod versus placebo. There was very low quality evidence that imiquimod was superior to placebo in achieving complete and partial regression (RR 4.03, 95% CI 2.03 to 7.99; RR 2.56, 95% CI 2.05 to 3.20, respectively). When compared with placebo, the effects of imiquimod on recurrence (RR 2.76, 95% CI 0.70 to 10.91), appearance of new warts (RR 0.76, 95% CI 0.58 to 1.00) and frequency of systemic adverse reactions (RR 0.91, 95% CI 0.63 to 1.32) were imprecise. We downgraded the quality of evidence to low or very low. There was low quality evidence that imiquimod led to more local adverse reactions (RR 1.73, 95% CI 1.18 to 2.53) and pain (RR 11.84, 95% CI 3.36 to 41.63).

Two trials (105 participants) compared the use of imiquimod versus any other patient-applied treatment (podophyllotoxin and podophyllin). The estimated effects of imiquimod on complete regression (RR 1.09, 95% CI 0.80 to 1.48), partial regression (RR 0.77, 95% CI 0.40 to 1.47), recurrence (RR 0.49, 95% CI 0.21 to 1.11) or the presence of local adverse reactions (RR 1.24, 95% CI 1.00 to 1.54) were imprecise (very low quality evidence). There was low quality evidence that systemic adverse reactions were less frequent with imiquimod (RR 0.30, 95% CI 0.09 to 0.98).

Finally, two trials (335 participants) compared imiquimod with any other provider-administered treatment (ablative methods and cryotherapy). There was very low quality of evidence that imiquimod did not have a lower frequency of complete regression (RR 0.84, 95% CI 0.56 to 1.28). There was very low quality evidence that imiquimod led to a lower rate of recurrence during six-month follow-up (RR 0.24, 95% CI 0.10 to 0.56) but this did not translate in to a lower recurrence from six to 12 months (RR 0.71, 95% CI 0.40 to 1.25; very low quality evidence). There was very low quality evidence that imiquimod was associated with less pain (RR 0.30, 95% CI 0.17 to 0.54) and fewer local reactions (RR 0.55, 95% CI 0.40 to 0.74).

The benefits and harms of imiquimod compared with placebo should be regarded with caution due to the risk of bias, imprecision and inconsistency for many of the outcomes we assessed in this Cochrane Review. The evidence for many of the outcomes that show imiquimod and patient-applied treatment (podophyllotoxin or podophyllin) confer similar benefits but fewer systematic reactions with the Imiquimod, is of low or very low quality. The quality of evidence for the outcomes assessing imiquimod and other provider-administered treatment were of very low quality.