Action - Your guide to healthy eating using the food pyramid. - Food-based dietary guidelines - Adolescents|Adult men and women|School age children (SAC)

Programme: Your guide to healthy eating using the food pyramid.

Programme description

A six-level food pyramid is used to graphically represent the messages of the guidelines and the recommended daily intakes. The number of recommended servings per day is indicated on the outside of the pyramid. The bottom four levels of the pyramid show foods and beverages that are essential for good health and should be eaten freely: cereals, bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, vegetables, fruits, dairy products, legumes, nuts, eggs, meat and fish. Fats and oils, on the fifth level, are essential for health but should be consumed in small amounts. Placed at the top are highly-processed products and foods high in fat, sugar and salt; excessive consumption of these products can be harmful, therefore they should be eaten sparingly.

Publishing institution: Department of Health

PDF available at the FAO website at

Programme type


The information has been retrieved from the FAO Food-based dietary guidelines website at

Start date:

Target group: 
Adult men and women
School age children (SAC)

Revision log

Sun, 01/15/2017 - 01:39engesveenkBulk moderation state change.published